Question by state ยท No published release yet

Which states require a certification or credential for direct support professionals

The register tracks direct support workforce training requirements for all 50 states and the District of Columbia, with federal obligations listed separately. No release has been published yet, so no state value can be cited from it: every jurisdiction below is shown with its research status rather than a requirement. Nothing on this page is an estimate.

Certification or credential for direct support roles, by state

Each value applies to the roles and services in parentheses. Linked titles open the requirement with its cited source passage.
JurisdictionResearch statusCertification or credential
Alabama AL No release No release published yet
Alaska AK No release No release published yet
Arizona AZ No release No release published yet
Arkansas AR No release No release published yet
California CA No release No release published yet
Colorado CO No release No release published yet
Connecticut CT No release No release published yet
Delaware DE No release No release published yet
District of Columbia DC No release No release published yet
Florida FL No release No release published yet
Georgia GA No release No release published yet
Hawaii HI No release No release published yet
Idaho ID No release No release published yet
Illinois IL No release No release published yet
Indiana IN No release No release published yet
Iowa IA No release No release published yet
Kansas KS No release No release published yet
Kentucky KY No release No release published yet
Louisiana LA No release No release published yet
Maine ME No release No release published yet
Maryland MD No release No release published yet
Massachusetts MA No release No release published yet
Michigan MI No release No release published yet
Minnesota MN No release No release published yet
Mississippi MS No release No release published yet
Missouri MO No release No release published yet
Montana MT No release No release published yet
Nebraska NE No release No release published yet
Nevada NV No release No release published yet
New Hampshire NH No release No release published yet
New Jersey NJ No release No release published yet
New Mexico NM No release No release published yet
New York NY No release No release published yet
North Carolina NC No release No release published yet
North Dakota ND No release No release published yet
Ohio OH No release No release published yet
Oklahoma OK No release No release published yet
Oregon OR No release No release published yet
Pennsylvania PA No release No release published yet
Rhode Island RI No release No release published yet
South Carolina SC No release No release published yet
South Dakota SD No release No release published yet
Tennessee TN No release No release published yet
Texas TX No release No release published yet
Utah UT No release No release published yet
Vermont VT No release No release published yet
Virginia VA No release No release published yet
Washington WA No release No release published yet
West Virginia WV No release No release published yet
Wisconsin WI No release No release published yet
Wyoming WY No release No release published yet
Federal USNo releaseNo release published yet

Questions about certification or credential requirements

How many states have a published certification or credential requirement for direct support professionals?
No release has been published yet, so the answer cannot be cited from this register. The page fills in automatically when reviewed research is published.
What certification or credential requirements have states published?
No release has been published yet, so the answer cannot be cited from this register. The page fills in automatically when reviewed research is published.
Why does a state show "not specified in source" or "unknown"?
A published requirement can be real and still not state a certification or credential requirement. "Not specified in source" means reviewers confirmed the cited document is silent on it; "unknown" means the research has not resolved it yet. Neither is reported as a number, and neither means the state has no rule.
Where do the values come from?
Every value is entered from a cited passage in an official government document (.gov), reviewed by a human before publication, and shown here exactly as published in the current release. The source, section, and retrieval date are listed on each requirement page.